Review: Fantasie “Rebecca” Moulded Bra

Abstract: This bra is made of some seriously amazing fabric, but the shape — minimized, spread out, and low — was a dealbreaker for me.

Image source: Fantasie’s website.

Background: This is a moulded cup bra that uses lightweight ‘spacer’ foam (a type of fabric that contains small air pockets) on the cups. It’s a continuity style in the colors black, white, and nude, and it’s currently also available in purple and will soon be released in red, too. The size range is 30–40 D–GG (excluding 38GG and 40G–GG). A few months ago, when I was in the market for a comfortable and practical everyday bra, I purchased the Rebecca bra in 30GG, in nude, at the normal retail price. I returned it soon after.

Sizing: I’m usually a 32FF or 32G, but I bought this bra in 30GG beacuse I’d heard that Fantasie’s bras, in general, have a reputation for running large in both the band and the cup. Surprisingly, the band on this particular bra runs true to size, as I could barely fasten the 30 band on the loosest hooks. I didn’t order any other sizes, though, so I can’t say for certain whether a 32 band would have been better for me. I had a decent amount of of extra space in the 30GG, so I think the cups run slightly large, but again, as I didn’t try on any other sizes, I’m not sure whether the next cup size down would have been too small.

If you buy this bra, my tentative advice is to order your normal band size and go down a cup size. I didn’t keep the bra, though, so I haven’t accounted for stretching and other long-term changes in sizing.

Fit: I found the underwires and the central gore rather wide. This bra probably would not play nice with very close-set breasts.

Comfort: Difficult to assess, because I bought a band size too small and I didn’t have it on for very long. I will say that the spacer fabric on the cups is unexpectedly light and breathable, which would likely make this bra more comfortable to wear in hot weather than an ordinary moulded bra.

Shape: For me, this was the point of failure for this bra. The shape is pretty terrible. It’s rounded, sure, but it’s also droopy, flattened, and spread out wide. The bra squashes my boobs out to the sides, making them point away from each other in an extreme display of the east-west phenomenon. The view from the side is very minimized, making my boobs look much smaller and, consequently, making the rest of me look larger and kind of lumpy. For a visual, take a look at my review of the Freya Deco plunge — the Rebecca gives a very similar shape.

Support: Undetermined, because I tried it on only briefly.

Quality: I was very impressed with the fabric on the cups of this bra. I’d never encountered spacer foam before and I didn’t really know what the term meant; from the pictures I’d seen when I first ordered the Rebecca, I was expecting the typical ‘foam dome’ found in most moulded cups: thick, dense, stiff, and rigid. I was pleasantly surprised to find that the cups on the Rebecca are actually thin, soft, pliable, and lightweight, giving a smooth appearance with very little extra bulk. Unlike other moulded bras, this bra’s cups don’t hold their shape when laid flat, but rather half-collapse like the cups on a padded bra. Though the Rebecca didn’t work for me shape-wise, I’m glad I tried it, because I really can’t get over how amazing this spacer fabric is. I’m keeping an eye out for other bras made from the same material.

Overall, the quality of this bra, both materials- and construction-wise, seems fairly high. I don’t know it fares after repeated washing and wearing, though. At £38, it’s a lot more costly than the average Freya or Cleo bra. The retailer HerRoom makes a big deal out of how expensive spacer foam is, which probably accounts for the high price.

Appearance: For a basic bra, it’s decently attractive. There’s geometric embroidery on the straps and the band to keep things from getting too boring. The coverage is quite high, so I consider this bra to be more of a full cup than a balconette.

Under clothes, the bra looks smooth and mostly inconspicuous. Since the cups don’t hold their shape on their own, they conform more closely to your body than normal moulded bras do, so you won’t get the gaping ‘half-moon’ indentations that you sometimes see under clothes when you hunch forward while wearing a moulded bra. The fabric is thick enough to conceal the nipples in most cases, but I’d expect you might still get some show-through on very cold days.

Conclusions: I was hoping the Rebecca bra would be a hit for me, but the shape was just completely unsatisfactory. The soft, light fabric used in this bra does make it a good choice in warm weather — as long as you don’t mind the flattened and misshapen profile it produces.

6 comments
  1. Thanks so much- I’ve been looking for a review on this since I can’t find it in stores for the US. I do very well in the Deco plunge- my primary fear is that I won’t fill out the top of the cups.

    • Lia said:

      Glad I could help! Have you seen the review at A Sophisticated Pair? (http://sophisticatedpair.com/blog/?p=1797) The bra seems to work a lot better for Dezi than it did for me. If you like the Deco plunge, the Rebecca could be worth a try. I found the fit and shape very similar (apart from the coverage level and the center gore height).

      It can be hard to find bras where I live, too. I buy most of my bras from the UK retailers Figleaves and Bravissimo — their worldwide shipping rates are pretty good, and I’ve never had a problem with returns or exchanges.

      • Thanks for your advice! I may order it online and return it if I can’t fill it properly- Breakout Bras is in the US, and Figleaves has always been good to me.

  2. The Elomi “Hermione” is almost identical, but made for plus size women.

    The spacer fabric, in general, has a lot of stretch to it which is why you can get the droopy shape.

    • Lia said:

      Oh, that makes sense about the spacer fabric stretching. Thanks for the information! Uplift is important to me, so spacer bras may not be the best choice after all. I wonder if pairing this fabric with seamed cups and narrower wires could improve the shape?

      • It’s possible that that might help, but I think with seaming it may be even harder to control the stretch of the fabric and the shape would be way off. I would think you’d have to line the spacer fabric to keep the shape ideal.

Leave a Reply

